In a hole in the ground there lived a Phd student

Yes, I’m back in the Scillies. However, after last years tent related disasters, I am now hiding underground.

Image

This is the converted victorian gun battery that I am currently living in. Note the distinct lack of guns..

I n the dark, dark bunker there are some dark, dark stairs..

Image

and down the dark, dark stairs there is a dark, dark door..

Image

through the dark, dark door there is a dark, dark room..

Image

and in the dark, dark room..

Image

is where I live!

Not a room for the claustrophobic. (Note the bottle of aftersun on the right, just in case things actually warm up)

This is a little unfair to the Wolpack. The rest of it is all rather spacious. Here is the communal area/pirate cave.

Image

As I am currently the only one in the communal area, I’m sure I’ll eventually end up talking to the skull a lot.

So fieldwork is imminent, once a few bits and pieces are finalised. Expect to hear more from me in my hole in the ground over the coming weeks as I chronicle the ups and downs of my upcoming fieldwork.

3 responses to “In a hole in the ground there lived a Phd student

  1. Pingback: Scilly Seabird Meeting | The Shag Project

Leave a Reply

