the Final Official (anticlimatic!) End and what happens after

Today I received this e-mail:

official

So that’s definitely it. More or less four years exactly after starting, the PhD is officially completed. I’d say that’s the end of shags for me except, as I’ve commented before, there are bits of my thesis that I’m keen to write up as papers. That process is still ongoing and I might enthuse about things  (like how pretty the graphs that python can produce are) at some point in the future. There is however, now an extra incentive to get those papers finished.

Back when I wrote about my viva experience I finished on a question:

“…but for the most part I now have to think about some big questions. Namely, what on earth do I do next?”

At the time that was a huge and scary question. With the viva over I felt like I was lacking in purpose. I had corrections and papers to work on, but those were distractions from the sudden looming nothingness that came from the sudden end of what had taken up three and a half years of my life. I’d stop being paid a while back and was relying heavily on the kindness of my friends, subsisting on my savings and whatever demonstrating work I could pick up, anything to avoid having to leave Falmouth.

11403249_10153593172859769_2081981389068106492_n

This was important to me. I’ve lived here for over eight years now, and as such was reluctant to leave. I wanted to try and remain near the university in some capacity, where I could benefit from collaborations on papers and get advice from others’ experience while applying for jobs. I also felt it was important to try to maintain my independence.

However, I knew I was going to have to leave eventually. Eight years is quite a long time to remain at one institution and so any job I applied for would definitely not be down here. In some ways, the further away the better. My main objectives with finding a post-doc was that it would allow me to continue studying something relevant to my research interests (social information use, group behaviours etc.) and that my skills were adequate. Aside from that, I would go anywhere and study anything.

So here I was, malingering, doing teaching work, making pretty figures in python, trying to write papers, applying for some post-docs and getting used to rejection.

Then a friend in the office e-mailed me a job that they had seen advertised that they thought sounded relevant to my interests. Which it was, enormously. I spent a good long while checking my CV and cover letter were as good as they could be. There was a lot of proof reading by various people. To cut a long story short I got a skype interview and then, to my infinite surprise, came home late one night to find I’d been offered the job.

I always said that if I were to move away from Falmouth that I’d rather move a long way so as to make it a clean break. I definitely succeeded with this job. The reason that I was interviewed using skype was because this particular post-doc happened to be at the University of Ottawa, Canada.

I am very excited about this.

Canada was a place that was definitely on my list of places that I’d like to visit, but at the time of application this seemed of secondary importance compared to the project. I deliberately avoided thinking about it, as I didn’t want to get too excited about a job I might not get. I received quite a lot of mockery upon telling the office that I’d got that job, when they realised I hadn’t even looked at where  Ottawa was on a map. I have to admit, I always pictured Canada to be something like this:

2008-05-19-082With apologies to Three Panel Soul

or

Still, now I have to face the reality of moving there. I moved down to student accommodation in Falmouth eight years ago. I’ve never properly moved to a new city, let alone a new country. There are a million things to do before I go and it’s all somewhat terrifying. Very exciting as well.

I’ll definitely try to keep this blog going. I’m not quite done with studying shags just yet and there will no doubt be amusing trials and tribulations as I move to Canada and start my new job.

I may have to consider a new name though. The chickadee project doesn’t really roll off the tongue.

 

 

 

One response to “the Final Official (anticlimatic!) End and what happens after

  1. Congratulations Dr Evans you really do deserve this position. I go excited just reading your blog. Good luck over there we’ll all be thinking of you as you paddle into new horizons. Cos….. he’s a lumberjack an’ he’s ok!

Leave a Reply

